| Study |
Design |
Population |
Interv./comp. |
Follow-up |
Main Long-Term Finding |
Key Limitation |
| Schnurr et al. (2022) (13) |
RCT; n = 916 |
Military-related PTSD; DSM-5 |
PE vs CPT |
6 months |
PE and CPT both produced clinically meaningful PTSD improvement through 6 months. PE showed statistically greater improvement and higher categorical outcome rates than CPT, but the between-treatment difference did not clearly establish superior sustained remission. |
High dropout; categorical outcomes were not prespecified and should be interpreted cautiously. |
| Resick et al. (2002) (14) |
RCT; n = 171 |
Women with chronic PTSD after rape |
CPT vs PE vs minimal attention |
9 months |
CPT and PE both outperformed minimal attention and showed durable follow-up improvement. |
Exact long-term remission proportions could not be derived from the outcomes reported in the published full report. |
| Resick et al. (2012) (15) |
Long-term follow-up of prior RCT |
Female rape survivors from the original CPT/PE cohort |
Prior CPT or PE |
5–10 years |
At follow-up, 22.2% of CPT and 17.5% of PE participants still met PTSD diagnostic criteria. |
Long-term attrition; no untreated comparator at follow-up. |
| Resick et al. (2017) (16) |
RCT; n = 268 |
Active-duty military personnel |
Individual CPT vs group CPT |
6 months |
PTSD diagnosis remission at 6 months was 43% for individual CPT and 39% for group CPT. |
Military-only sample; residual symptom burden remained in many participants. |
| Resick et al. (2008) (17) |
RCT dismantling study; n = 150 |
Women with interpersonal violence-related PTSD |
Full CPT vs written accounts vs cognitive-only CPT |
6 months |
At 6 months, PTSD persisted in 25.9% of full CPT, 26.7% of written accounts, and 20.7% of cognitive-only CPT. |
CPT-component study rather than standard CPT-only comparison. |
| Chard (2005) (18) |
RCT; n = 71 |
Childhood sexual abuse-related PTSD |
CPT-SA vs minimal attention |
1 year |
CPT-SA produced greater PTSD symptom reduction, with gains maintained through 1 year. |
Small-to-moderate sample; remission not consistently standardized. |
| Monson et al. (2006) (19) |
Wait-list controlled trial; n = 60 |
Veterans with chronic PTSD |
CPT vs waitlist |
6 months |
CPT-related PTSD and comorbidity improvements were maintained through 6 months. |
Small veteran sample; remission/loss of diagnosis not the main long-term endpoint. |
| Morland et al. (2014) (20) |
Noninferiority RCT; n = 125 |
Rural veterans with PTSD |
CPT-C via videoconferencing vs in-person CPT-C |
6 months |
Videoconferencing CPT-C was noninferior to in-person CPT-C, with maintained symptom reductions. |
Delivery-mode study; categorical remission not emphasized. |
| Morland et al. (2015) (21) |
Noninferiority RCT; n = 126 |
Women with PTSD |
Telemedicine CPT vs in-person CPT |
6 months |
CPT gains were enduring at 6 months; telemedicine was noninferior to in-person delivery. |
Female-only sample; remission not primary endpoint. |
| Peterson et al. (2022) (22) |
RCT; n = 120 |
Veterans/service members |
CPT delivered in-office, in-home, or by telehealth |
6 months |
Improvement was maintained across delivery formats, with no significant modality differences at 6 months. |
Delivery-format trial; not powered for categorical remission. |
| Simpson et al. (2022) (23) |
RCT; n = 101 |
PTSD with alcohol use disorder |
CPT vs assessment-only / relapse-prevention sequence |
12 months |
PTSD symptoms improved substantially across 12 months, supporting sustained symptom improvement but not formal remission. |
Formal remission and loss-of-diagnosis rates were not reported in the published full report. |
| Foa et al. (2018) (24) |
RCT; n = 370 |
Active-duty military personnel |
Massed PE vs spaced PE vs present-centered therapy vs minimal contact |
6 months |
Massed PE was noninferior to spaced PE; effects were followed through 6 months. |
Remission/loss-of-diagnosis outcomes were not foregrounded. |
| Thorp et al. (2019) (25) |
RCT; n = 87 |
Older veterans with PTSD |
PE vs relaxation training |
6 months |
PE produced large acute improvement, but many gains eroded by 6 months. |
Symptom gains decreased by 6 months in this older-veteran sample. |
| Oprel et al. (2021) (26) |
RCT; n = 149 |
PTSD related to childhood abuse |
Standard PE vs intensified PE vs STAIR+PE |
6 and 12 months |
Loss of diagnosis was 48%–59%; remission was 27%–29% across arms, with no significant between-condition differences. |
Loss-of-diagnosis and remission rates differed under the stringent remission definition. |
| Peterson et al. (2023) (27) |
RCT; n = 234 |
Combat-related PTSD |
Massed PE vs intensive outpatient PE |
6 months after treatment |
Diagnostic remission at 6 months was approximately 53% for intensive outpatient PE and 52% for massed PE. |
Military/veteran sample; intensive formats may limit generalizability. |
| Dell et al. (2023) (28) |
Noninferiority follow-up; n = 138 randomized |
Military/veteran PTSD |
Massed PE over 2 weeks vs standard PE over 10 weeks |
12-month follow-up; approximately 9–11 months after treatment completion depending on arm |
Massed PE remained noninferior to standard PE at 12 months, supporting durability of PE gains. |
Follow-up was reported relative to the trial follow-up schedule; because active treatment lasted 2–10 weeks, the 12-month assessment still met the ≥6-month post-treatment durability threshold. |
| Morland et al. (2020) (29) |
RCT; n = 175 |
DSM-5-era PTSD |
PE via home telehealth, office telehealth, or in-home in-person |
6 months after treatment completion |
PE outcomes were maintained across delivery modalities. |
Modality comparison rather than treatment-type comparison. |
| Sele et al. (2023) (30) |
RCT; n = 92 |
DSM-5 PTSD and ICD-11 CPTSD after childhood abuse |
PE vs STAIR Narrative Therapy vs STAIR alone |
1 year |
PE produced greater PTSD symptom improvement at 1 year than the other conditions. |
Remission and loss-of-diagnosis outcomes were not reported in the published full report. |
| Jamil et al. (2026) (31) |
Pragmatic longitudinal pilot; n = 33 |
Adult outpatient PTSD |
Intensive PE |
6 months |
Large symptom reductions were sustained; among participants assessed by CAPS-5 at 6 months, diagnostic loss was common. |
Small but above-threshold sample; remission not formally labeled. |
| Ehlers et al. (2003) (32) |
RCT; n = 97 |
PTSD after motor vehicle accident |
Cognitive therapy vs self-help booklet vs repeated assessment |
9 months |
At follow-up, 11% of cognitive therapy patients still had PTSD vs 61% and 55% in comparator groups. |
Trauma-specific and early PTSD sample. |
| Ehlers et al. (2014) (33) |
RCT; n = 121 |
Chronic adult PTSD |
Intensive CT-PTSD vs standard CT-PTSD vs supportive therapy/waitlist |
6–9 months |
Intensive and standard CT-PTSD achieved comparable recovery, with maintained gains. |
CT-PTSD variant rather than PE/CPT/EMDR. |
| Bryant et al. (2008) (34) |
RCT; n = 118 |
Adult PTSD |
Exposure-based CBT components |
6 months |
PTSD persisted in 31% of combined exposure plus cognitive restructuring vs higher persistence in exposure-only arms. |
Component-based CBT design. |
| Rothbaum et al. (2005) (35) |
Controlled trial; n = 74 |
Female rape victims with PTSD |
PE vs EMDR vs waitlist |
6 months post-therapy |
PE and EMDR both improved PTSD more than waitlist; no significant PE–EMDR difference at 6 months. |
Moderate sample; trauma-specific population. |
| van der Kolk et al. (2007) (36) |
RCT; n = 88 |
Adults with PTSD |
EMDR vs fluoxetine vs placebo |
6 months after treatment |
EMDR showed substantial and sustained PTSD improvement, especially in adult-onset trauma. |
Medication comparator complicates psychotherapy-only interpretation. |
| van den Berg et al. (2015) (37) |
RCT; n = 155 |
PTSD with psychotic disorder |
PE vs EMDR vs waitlist |
6 months |
PE and EMDR were both superior to waitlist; effects were maintained, with no significant PE–EMDR difference. |
Specialized psychosis comorbidity sample. |
| van den Berg et al. (2018) (38) |
Long-term follow-up of prior RCT |
PTSD with psychotic disorder |
Follow-up after PE and EMDR |
12 months |
Benefits from PE and EMDR generally endured at 12 months, with no meaningful long-term difference. |
No untreated comparator at 12 months; attrition risk. |